The Ultimate Moral Compass

Below you will find a posting on “Parental Expectation List.”  At first glance, I would presume that most people would yawn a little and then go about finding something really worthwhile to read.

STOP!  Please STOP and read this tidbit before you shrug your shoulders and let your fingers keyboard away from this extremely important subject.

You see, our children begin to create and sustain their BELIEF systems by watching our actions, our beliefs and our expectations.

All that we do and all that we believe, including our EXPECTATIONS, drives our children’s REACTIONS and BELIEFS and their own personalized EXPECTATIONS.

So before you dismiss an EXPECTATION list, think of the consequences of ignoring how very important this is to your child.

Yes, the world is a stage and we are on it.  For life.  Our child is reading us from day one (or before).  So how openly we ACT on our own personalized BELIEFS and EXPECTATIONS will determine our child’s internalized direction for self and world.

This is not an invitation for us to PREACH or DEMAND, but rather an avenue for gently installing a “moral compass” that will serve our children well throughout their lives.

This entry was posted in Connecting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Ultimate Moral Compass

  1. Diana Stewart says:

    The most valuable parent ed. in my early days in the Waldorf school was the reminder to always strive to be worthy of imitation. It is the only advice I give to new parents. (If asked, of course!) Thank you for this great exercise. I’ve never put my list on paper.
    xo
    PS Crooked Little House is my best friend…I am going to miss her very much.

    • dearfriends says:

      Hello Diana,
      Thank you for sharing such great advice from Waldorf school! For folks who don’t have access to Waldorf schools, I would highly recommend checking out: http://www.whywaldorfworks.org/ Parenting is about sharing our achieved insights and knowledge with our community. (It does take that Village to raise our children.) Again, thank you.

  2. Sarah Scott says:

    @dearfriends, your blog has refreshed my mind and reminded me of some of the things I’ve always wanted from my life. I, too, am a “kid person” as you’ve stated you are. I also have always believed there are a lot of positive reasons to teach children using the Waldorf method. It’s inspirational to me. I agree that children learn morals through involved, active parents doing their part to instill morals in children in a teaching manner.

    • dearfriends says:

      Hello Sarah,
      Thank you for your comments. My hope is that public schools will learn from Waldorf and some charter schools–that the involvement of parents is a crucial element in our childrens’ learning environment.

Leave a Reply

