Thanksgiving Reveals More Than Turkey

Thanksgiving Dinner is tomorrow, but here’s today’s little conversation that puts a new twist to the old “What are you Thankful for?”

“Do Quakers celebrate Thanksgiving?” she asked, as she placed the pins in my almost-finished-skirt’s hem.

Before I could reply, she continued, “Oh sure.  I bet Quakers think that it’s like Christmas.  Being thankful every day, not just once a year.”

I had to smile. My wonderfully, kind (gardening guru and now seamstress)neighbor is quickly adapting to my “Quakerism.”

Quakers do have regular roast turkey and all the fixings on Thanksgiving (well, I’ve had salmon and home-made Chinese food for a couple of Thanksgivings), but all-in-all, it is a day of rather unsimplified eating for most of us.

But her comments did bring forward the idea that Thankfulness is an everyday expectation and expression.  Perhaps I should keep a journal of my daily acknowledgments of Thanksgiving.  I’ve noticed my thankfulness always has to do with RELATIONSHIPS.

Lately, I’ve thought that with all the economic downturn and the sense of hopelessness and helplessness being pervasive throughout a large segment of our citizens (and don’t forget our “world citizens”), that perhaps our relationship with Money and Security and Equality has been raised in our personal hierarchy of needs.

Think Maslow.  Think of his pyramid for the Hierarchy of Needs:

When we silently or verbally express our Thanks, perhaps we can be aware of those folks who’s need for Safety and Security overshadow the higher needs of Love and Belonging (think: RELATIONSHIPS with others); Self-Esteem (think: RELATIONSHIP with SELF); and Self-Actualization (think: RELATIONSHIP with a HIGHER POWER).

So when we go around the Thanksgiving table this year, with everyone saying what he or she is Thankful for, I’ll be thinking RELATIONSHIPS–what will you be thinking?

Be gentle with yourself and kind to others.

This entry was posted in Connecting, Quaker and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Reveals More Than Turkey

  1. patricemj says:

    Just came by to visit my long lost twin! I love Quakers!

    • dearfriends says:

      For all of you who read my blog, please take a moment and skip over to my “twin’s” blog. Amazing slices of life with such humor. Thank you for dropping by. All my best, Barb

Leave a Reply

