Dear Santa Letters–Lessons Learned

Dear Santa,

I downloaded this form letter.  Please see that I checked off:

  1. I will only ask for one thing from you.
  2. I’ve helped Mommy.
  3. I say please and thank you.
  4. I use Kleenex, not my sleeve.
  5. I eat spinach, peas and broccoli.
  6. I say “sorry” when I hurt my friend’s feelings.
  7. I wipe my feet before I come into the house.
  8. The guinea pig at school likes me.
  9. I let my sister wear my mittens.
  10. I’ve been good.

Now can I have a puppy?  I would prefer a brown and white one, but I’ll take a black one rather than an all white one.  Please tell the Reindeer “hi” for me.

Your Friend, XXXX

I noted that on the Internet, under writing Santa letters, some of the websites make it known that when your child sends Santa an email, Santa will send a HANDWRITTEN letter back.  Wow–a HANDWRITTEN letter arrives in the MAIL Box.  How special is that?

You think I’m being a little “over-the-top” with this one?  No, not at all.  When was the last time you received a handwritten letter from a friend or family member?  How did it make you feel to get mail addressed and written to you?  Just you?  Someone who cared enough to sit down and put words to paper.  Someone who could have sent an email, but chose to send a letter.  Not just a card that was cute or cleaver, but a WHOLE letter?

Here’s a tip:  If you want your child, from ages of about seven and up to really HEAR you, write them a letter.  Actually sit down and hand write a letter, put it in an envelope, with a first class stamp and then MAIL it.  Don’t say anything.  Be patient.  WAIT.  When your child receives his or her letter, put it with the rest of the mail and let the child know that a letter has come for them.  Then follow the above and don’t say anything.  WAIT.  (This may take some time if you are sending your teenager a letter.)  Your child will eventually or quickly let you know that you have gotten their attention.

PS–it’s always good to write positive, encouraging, supportive words.  Apologies are okay, too.  No nagging.  No “told you so.”  You want your child to look forward to receiving your next letter.

Be gentle with yourself and your children.

 

 

This entry was posted in adolescent, Articles, child, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

