Preparing for First Day Meeting

Have desk, will write

Image by Bright Meadow via Flickr

When I read others blogs, I realize a couple of aspects that make these blogs popular.  One, most of the writers have a flair for humor; and two, each writer has a gift for connecting between writing about their daily lives and sending this information out into the universe to be read by anyone.  I find this beyond my capabilities.  Humor?  Not so much, at least in my writing.  Connecting with sharing directly about me?  Not so much.  It isn’t that I lead a life that is other than mundane, it’s just that it seems so revealing of self to an unknown audience that makes me think that this may not be the best way for me to go.

And then there is Advice and Query #27 (Geoffrey Durham’s The Spirit of the Quakers.)

Live Adventurously.  When choices arise do you take the way the offers the fullest opportunity for your gifts in the service of God and the community?  Let your life speak.

I enjoy writing, but is this considered a gift?   If I have a small audience for my writing, should I still think that I should pursue writing in terms of offering a gift?  Is there another way to go about looking at my choices and gifts and being in service.

I will spend today, in preparation for meeting, allowing and encouraging myself to dwell on this aspect of my Quaker life:  if writing is my gift to offer my God and my community, what is it that I can write to meet this expectation for “let my life speak.”  And at meeting, I will try to blend heart and soul into listening for understanding and direction, in whatever form or leadings this brings.

Be gentle with your thoughts as you reach to understand that of God/Light/Spirit in yourself and others.

This entry was posted in Connecting, Quaker and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preparing for First Day Meeting

  1. patricemj says:

    Good thoughts to you. I know what you mean about blogging. If you don’t put yourself out there, you don’t get a lot of hits. But if you do put yourself on the line, you feel, well, pretty exposed. It’s something I also thing a lot about. It’s like this in life too, but in real life we can assess to whom we reveal ourselves. MIndfulness will help, at least it does for me. Everyday I ask myself, what is this blog doing to you?

    • dearfriends says:

      Hello Patrice, Thanks for offering your own thoughts on this issue of “exposure.” My blogging is a small part of my writing. I spend most of my time writing for children/middle graders/YA. If I don’t get my writing “out there” I am simply entertaining myself, not offering something that might be useful to others. And so, I am trying to challenge myself to “live adventurously” by seeking some form of audience for all my writing. Thanks again for your caring—all the best, barb

Leave a Reply

