2012: Discernment on Integrity and Activism

It is First Month/First Day/ 2012.  What will 2012 bring?  What will I do to be of “that of God’s hands” in 2012?  (If you are not one to believe in God, perhaps you can insert in this phrase “that of loving hands.”)

There is a wonderful little article in Friends Journal that is quite instructive in thinking, believing and doing “that of God’s hands.”  /www.friendsjournal.org/god-has-no-hands-earth-ours

We are all on different paths. We are all called to be different and to do different things. In order to live with integrity, we don’t do someone else’s work.  –Anne-Marie Witzburg

When I think about doing the caring and work of “God’s hands” then it makes it much clearer as to how I look at my world/community around me.  There is so much I would like to do, so many who are in need–from my small community to the global one.  Is it enough to recycle as much as we can from our home, or can I do more for the health of the entire planet?

Here are some of my personal queries:

  • How much time do I have to offer to “that of God in everyone” and to “that of God everywhere?”
  • How much energy do I have to offer?
  • How much physical ability do I have to offer?
  • What do I truly care about, but need to be more education to be another voice?
  • How do I discern, without the assistance of a clearness committee, on what is the right course of action?
  • What am I led to do?

It is not difficult to see the need.  What is difficult is to determine one’s leadings and abilities to marshal time, energy, physical and emotional endurance for meeting of those  needs.

As much as I would like to be able to engage in a task of need that requires a full-time job’s worth of effort and dedication, my physical ability to do so seems to have evaporated with age and increasing physical disability.  Most of us have our limitations in some form, and I believe we must find ways to be gentle with ourselves and do that which we can, without the sense of guilt for our lack of ability or a sense of having less value.

So 2012, what will I be able to contribute that keeps me following my own small voice of integrity?  How will I go forward to be that of what I can of “God’s hands?”  I do not know as of yet.  I will let you know when I have found the leading and have completed the discernment process.

May 2012 bring you “that of God’s hands” in whatever form you recognize–receiving as well as giving.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Connecting, Quaker and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

